You are here

Reviews


Guest feedback is an important way for us to stay in touch with our guests and their experience at Aspen Square Hotel. If you would like to write a review about us, there are several ways for you to do so. You can click here to send a review directly to our website, or review us on Trip Advisor or Google+. Your input is important to us as we strive to provide excellent customer service and a memorable stay at Aspen Square Hotel. Thank you to all of you who take the time to share your thoughts with us!

Comments from Recent Online Reviews

June 2, 2015: "Location location"

As many other reviewers have stated Aspen Square is in a fantastic location. Directly opposite the Silver Queen Gondola, in the heart of all the shops, cafes and restaurants and opposite the supermarket. Another bonus was that the ski school bus picked up the children right outside the building. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo that was perfectly comfortable & well equipped though not overly spacious. As we were out skiing all day, the size was not a huge issue it was just smaller than I was expecting. Our children enjoyed the outdoor pool and the cookies and lemonade served in the lobby in the afternoon. Overall we would stay at Aspen Square again (though it would be nice if they added airport transfers for all guests flying in and out).


 May 19, 2015: "Perfect location in Aspen core"

Great location for walking everywhere, including restaurants, shopping, and Aspen mountain gondola. Also, underground parking. Very nice helpful friendly staff. comfortable bed and good quality pillows. 


April 24, 2015: "Great little place in center of town"

Aspen Square is a great place to stay if you want to be right in the middle of everything. These are condos - a benefit if you want to do your own cooking. Plus, there is a super market next door to do all your grocery shopping. The people here are really friendly too. When you step outside you will be one block from the main shops, one block from the ski lift, basically one block from anything you could need. Plus, there is a nice place to have breakfast attached to the building (Poppycocks). The gym is lacking and kind of creepy as it's down in a little room in the basement without windows. That's the only negative thing I can think of. Other than that, this place is great! 


April 16, 2015: "Fantastic location"

Perfectly situated near the main strip in Downtown Aspen. Stayed in the fireplace suite. Great getaway spot for a ski trip or a summer visit. I was there during the Aspen Shortsfest and was very impressed with the accommodations. Friendly service from all the employees I encountered.


March 30, 2015: "1st trip to Aspen"

We went to Aspen for spring break prior to the trip we had done our homework on where to stay and what to expect. We landed on Aspen Square and were very happy with our choice. Granted the facility is a little older but in tip top shape with very helpful staff. The concierge was wonderful helping with dinner reservations. As many have said the city market is less than a block away as well as the Butcher shop which is worth visiting and the liquor store. The slopes are about two blocks away. One of the best spots to be close to the slopes but not having to pay the Little Nell price which also looks like a beautiful property. Hot tubs and pool were in good condition and fully functional. We had one of our best evenings going to the Butcher shop and the liquor store and grilling our own steak and fish on the patio by the pool. (Grill Provided). Great place would stay there again.


 March 30, 2015: "Just a great place!"

We have stayed at Aspen Square for more than 20 years each March. We have our four daughters and their families come during that month along with friends from Norway. The staff always makes us feel welcome, the condos are immaculate, the pool and spa are clean and who wouldn't enjoy sitting in a hot tub looking up at the snowy mountains. The few challenges we have encountered over the years have been handled quickly and to our satisfaction. We would never stay anywhere else in Aspen! It is a great, wonderful, happy place!


 March 27, 2015: "Location! Location location!!"

This hotel is my absolute favorite in aspen. The people are fantastic and accomodating, and you cannot beat being across the street from the grocery on one side and the gondola on the other the gondola. Underground parking is very convenient. The maid service was outstanding. Despite this being an older hotel, there are many updates and it exudes character. the location can't be beat.


 March 15, 2015: "Great location, great amenities, great service"

While I was aware of the high cost of staying in Aspen, I was still surprised by the room charge when my friends (a couple) made the booking for a two room apartment (2 couples) for a week.When we checked into the hotel on a Sunday, despite arriving well past midnight, the driver had no problem finding the place as it is centrally located. The gondola station to the Aspen Mountain is just across the road. Our apartment directly faces the Aspen Mountain, the view of the Mountain and skiers coming down are awesome.The apartment is large, homely, tidy and comfortable, with all cooking utensils in good working order. On two nights that we decided not to eat out, there was no problem for our wives to cook some home style dishes.The apartment is clean as everyday the cleaner came in to do the beds and clean up the whole place. The staff were all courteous and attentive. Whenever we needed something like a humidifier or cooking pot, they were always delivered promptly.The hotel has two outdoor spas which are very popular in the evenings. After skiing for a day, there is nothing better than soaking in a hot spa. There is also an outdoor pool (12 metres) which is heated. I used the pool a few times and it was quite pleasant. Although expensive, there is really nothing that's lacking with this hotel. As it is only a stone's throw from the Aspen mountain gondola, and it is close to bus stops to other mountains, the central location is the biggest drawcard. If location, convenience and comfort are high on the list, you can't go wrong with this hotel. Highly recommended.


 March 14, 2015: "My home away from home"

I have been staying at Aspen Square every Jan/Feb for over 20 years now. The location is excellent and the condos are furnished to a high standard. But what really sets AS apart are the wonderful staff. Everyone - from those who work on the Front Desk, to the fabulous concierges, to the housekeeping and maintenance staff comes to work with a smile on their faces and a friendly attitude of " how can I help you today?" Well done Warren and Dana - you run a great outfit. See you in 2016. 


February 4, 2015: "Great location and Friendly Staff"

We stayed here with a group of friends and took a 1 bedroom condominium. The location is perfect, just a short walk from the Aspen lifts and close to the supermarket and bottle shop. We sorted our ski hire and tickets prior to arrival and I agree that that's the way to go. The hotel is clean, with all the amenities you could want. Very close to all the restaurants and night life.


February1, 2015: "Great Location"

Fantastic place to stay. Close to everything. Great service and the housekeeping is excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone, especially families. Few steps to the supermarket and ski lifts. Quality apartments.


January 15, 2015: "Perfect spot for a family"

If you are a family looking for a great location with great value then this is it. It's your typical 2 bed 2 bath ski condo with very American styling. Has a concierge, pool, spas etc... You can't beat this location. remember to negotiate with the ski rental providers... We saved $1700 from the original quote just by asking.


January 12, 2015: "Great hotel in heart of Aspen"

This is a perfect spot for a family wanting to be in the middle of town and walking distance to the gondola for Ajax, or bus to Snowmass and Buttermilk. We flew into Eagle near vail and took a taxi to aspen. If you stay in Aspen, you don't need a rental car.


November 2014: "Perfect one-night stay"

Perfect location, great room, without the pretentious Aspen attitude. Nice little extras like a reusable shopping bag and a box of chocolates. We stayed in the off-season when the price is an amazing deal. Highly recommend it!


November 21, 2014: "WOW! Pleasantly surprised frequent traveler."

I travel a lot for business, so it takes a lot for me to get excited about a hotel. I stayed at Aspen Square for a trade show with a business colleague and this two bed/two bath condo was FABULOUS!. Great kitchen,dining and living area. Super friendly staff! Cute 'extra amenities' and the maid service was spectacular. The maid even picked 3 pennies off the floor and placed them neatly on my bedside table. Wish I had time to ski, because the access for that was also spectacular. You are walking distance to most things Aspen! Will definitely be back.


October 25, 2014: "Great place, great location"

We really liked this place. Location couldn't be better. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our studio apartment was ideal for the two nights we stayed. The wifi worked well, the TV was good, they provided robes, the kitchen was well equipped and the the place was clean. The bathroom was a bit small but ok. We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night and were glad to be leaving Aspen on Saturday because it was getting very crowded on the weekend. This is the perfect place to stay in Aspen if you just want to leave your car in the hotels garage.


September 27, 2014:“Very nice stay at Aspen Square”
This property is one of the best locations in Aspen. We rented a 500 foot condo (studio) that was perfect for 2 people. The price was very reasonable, the room was spotless, and the employees were helpful. The only reason we did not give it 5 stars is that the facility is a bit old, but very well kept. We will use this hotel again in the future.


September 20, 2014: “A great place to stay”

We made our first visit to Aspen and timed it just right for the fall color at Maroon Bells. In a expensive city, Aspen Square was a great option at a reasonable price. We had a studio on the 4th floor, facing the ski hill. The unit was up to date and well decorated. The bed was comfortable and the location was great. Definitely would recommend!


September 18: “Wow! What a beautiful hotel!”
I recently took my mom to visit Aspen for the 1st time, and we had the opportunity to spend the trip at Aspen Square. The hotel was soooo beautiful. The staff was so friendly and the room was outstanding. But most of all the view of Aspen Mountain was spectacular. Location was downtown Aspen, with walking distance to everything. When you are here, make sure you visit Poppycock's Cafe for their world famous buttermilk oatmeal pancake. Thanks again Aspen Square for making our stay a home away from home. 5 STARS!!!!!


September 10, 2014: “Aspen Square Every Time!”
Our family has been staying at Aspen Square whenever we visit Aspen and Maroon Bells for about 30-40 years (since before air conditioning was added). It is always a perfect place for us, and others should enjoy it also. Staff has always been great, and the location cannot be beaten. Now that we are geezers, we still enjoy it every chance we get!

Room Tip: If you don't particularly like the decor in first room, ask to see another!


September 9, 2014: “My favorite spot”
I love this little place, the rooms are well decorated, comfortable and spacious. We have stayed 3-4 times over the past couple years and love each room we have had. Right downtown so you can walk everywhere, covered parking to stow your vehicle and the staff is very accommodating. I look forward to our upcoming visit in Dec.


September 2, 2014: “The only place to stay when visiting Aspen!”
Our family has been coming to Aspen Square for many years and we are always happy with our stays. The location cannot be beat (right near the Gondola in the city center), the rooms are comfortable (we usually have a 2 bedroom), and the amenities like pool and hot tub are well maintained. Most importantly, the staff is very friendly and helpful. This is the place to stay when you are in Aspen!


August 28, 2014: “Second great stay at Aspen Square!”
We returned to the Aspen Square after three years and it was even greater than we remembered. In a very expensive town with some of the most fabulous hotels in the world, the Aspen Square is a moderate and nice choice right in the middle of town surrounded by much more expensive lodging. The two bedroom condo we had was perfect for our family. It was in beautiful condition and had great finishes. The courtyard with pool and hot tubs is not huge but is beautifully landscaped and certainly a nice spot to relax. The location across from the grocery store, Grog Shop, and Francesca's fresh pasta shop could not be more convenient. Try to get a condo facing Ajax Mountain -- it is lovely to sit on the balcony off your unit and drink coffee, taking in the mountain views. We really like this place.

The staff here was excellent. One of the concierge ladies, whose name I am sorry I did not get, chased us all the way to the bus stop three blocks away to clarify a traffic situation due to the USA Pro Challenge bike race that was in town -- she saved us a lot of aggravation that day and we appreciated it. Suffice it to say that the staff goes above and beyond to help.


June 2014: “Terrific Value, Great Location”
This was our first stay at the Aspen Square, and it will not be our last. We stayed in a slightly dated studio condo on the 3rd floor, but had a great view of Aspen Mountain. The balcony was small but adequate, the king size bed very comfy, the seating area more than adequate, and the small nicely-stocked kitchen was a nice luxury. There is a wood-burning fireplace with plenty of free wood and fire starter, but being June, we didn't use this amenity.

The hotel has free covered parking in the basement and the wifi is complimentary and very fast. The flat screen TV is large, can be easily swiveled to view from bed or the leather cough, and had a wide variety of HD stations. 

We found the room whisper quiet, which was great. The staff are friendly and helpful, and Laura, the concierge, a gem. All of her recommendations for shops, hikes, cafes, coffee shops, restaurants, and events were spot on. The daily room service was excellent. 

We loved the pool and two hot tubs ... great after a day of hiking. The location is hard to beat ... right in the middle of everything ... and a short walk to dozens of restaurants, bars, and shops. Once you're parked, you won't need your car unless you're going somewhere away from town.

Only issue we had was with the blinds (they are not the dark out variety, which can make sleeping in a bit harder) and a slow-to-drain shower. 

But other than that one issue this place is a great spot to stay and the value (for Aspen) could not be better.


June 2014: “Couldn't Have Been More Comfortable”
From full kitchen, completely appointed, to camp chair in the closet, everything was there.
 Amazingly good lighting and places for iPads and such. Every room has a balcony. Smack downtown too. Returning next year!


April 2014: “Aspen Square”
No surprises. Exactly as described in the reviews and on their website. Great location, We rented the fireplace studio for 4 nights last week and we were happy with everything. The only negative I can remember was the fireplace door needed to be fixed. Well trained and happy staff. Clean room and property. Recommend it.


November 2013:  “Great location and extremely well-planned, quality rooms”
The hotel is centrally located in Downtown Aspen five minutes or less from the Gondola, Paradise Bakery, Popycock's, Red Onion, etc. Rooms are of excellent quality with all amenities. Above all, the rooms have more storage available for the temporary guests' clothing and equipment than any unit I've ever been in--skis, clothes, whatever; the two-bedroom, two-bath apartment the four of us had could've fitted in the "stuff" for two more people with ease. Parking is free, close, and some covered is available at least in off season.

We were in off-season but the Desk opened the well-designed and landscaped hot tubs (2) and pool promptly on request. Off-season, prices are very reasonable considering the quality and attributes. Pricey in-season but a great place to stay if you can pay the freight.

Oh, and bring you own wine opener--the furnished one is terrible.


October 2013: “What a great place”
We have stayed here several times, and it is one of our favorite places to stay in Aspen. The location is terrific, the rooms nice and roomy, and the staff accommodating. One word of caution. We were there in September, had an early flight out of Denver, and almost missed it because the front desk did not open until 7:00 and there was no one to get our car out of valet parking. A minor problem, but be forewarned and make the necessary arrangements.


October 2013: “Perfect family getaway”
My husband has a work event in Aspen every October, and sometimes our family (two boys ages 4 and 8) gets to tag along. We stayed this weekend, which was our 3rd time at the Aspen Square hotel. We get a different condo each time and have never been disappointed! On this trip, our place had a great view of the mountain and gondola! I love the patios off of the living and master bedroom area. It was too cool this weekend to spend long out there, but perfect for a breath of sweet mountain air. The condo had recently been renovated, with new carpet and a "mountain/industrial" decor.

A special touch was the his/her bathrobes in the master closet--perfect for trips to/from the outdoor hot tub. In the past we enjoyed a package of local chocolates, but now that Aspen has gone to a "no plastic bag" policy in their stores, the hotel provides a reusable shopping bag as a check in gift.

The location couldn't be better (66 steps to the gondola, which was free this past weekend), and parking is ample. If you're looking for an affordable, convenient family getaway, there is no better place to stay in Aspen!


July 28, 2013: “World's Friendliest Hotel General Manager”
Warren Klug is a local Aspen tourism celebrity. Warren is tall, kind, mild-mannered, totally genuine and keeps his office close to front desk so he can pop in and out to greet his guests. Warren gets was great guest service is. I stayed at this condominium style hotel for three (3) nights - awesome. An instant friendly & 'bearded' smile from John who checked me in has been working at the hotel for over 6 years. During my stay I watched a lot of very happy guests intermingle and enjoy this hotel's swimming pool. Their downtown location is perfect as the mountain is right behind them and downtown Aspen restaurants and retail are right in front of them. They have a ton of repeat guests. I met some who have been returning for over 40 years! I liked the rooms because for me they were bigger than normal and were fully equipped with kitchen and a living area. Felt more like a fresh and recently renovated apartment home-away-from-home to me. For a down home hotel experience right in the middle of the fun and action where the staff care use this place - awesome!


September 3, 2013: “A little slice of heaven”
We truly love staying at Aspen Square Condo. It is located in the center of town and Warren and his staff are amazing. There is plenty of hiking and fantastic restaurants located right near the condos.


September 3, 2013: “Best location, amazing staff”
Stayed there in January, Amazing location, lovely staff. Very nice pool and spas. The rooms are cleaned daily and are so nice to come back to after skiing. There are even humidifiers in every room. Every day there is a hot cider waiting for you in the lobby.


September 3, 2013: “Absolutely wonderful”
We loved our stay at Aspen Square! The condo was clean, really clean, the staff friendly and very helpful and the location could not be beat. We did have one problem with the cleaning staff, but the manager sent us a beautiful bottle of champagne to compensate which was awesome! Next time we're in Aspen we will stay at the Square! Can't wait to go again!


September 24, 2013: “Best condo in Aspen”
We called at the last minute because Estes Park was flooded out. Reservations clerk alerted us to a special rate, very reasonable. Well equipped studio condo with full kitchen. In the heart of Aspen but relatively quiet. Hotel provides free parking and if the indoor lot fills, the desk clerk will find a spot on the street and take your car there until a spot opens up. Life saver in crowded Aspen.


October 2, 2013: “Convenient, Caring, and Well-appointed”
Centrally located in downtown Aspen, within walking distance of most things, with free parking in the courtyard. Staff was thoughtful and responsive. Room was great -- spacious, had everything, including a balcony and fireplace (and even games, if you are so-inclined). And, a small box of candy to top things off.


October 3, 2013: “Perfect spot in Aspen”
Front desk staff very professional. Our room was on the second floor in a back corner and was comfortable and very nicely appointed for the two of us. We even had a view of the mountain behind us. Grocery, liquor, and bike rental shops right across the street. Great to be able to walk to all restaurants. Cleaning staff was great every day of the 4 days we were there. Only drawback was we were next to the bus line. At first it seemed a bit intrusive, but very shortly thereafter it seemed much less so. We loved our stay.


"We were fortunate to get a unit that had JUST been redecorated and it was lovely. The accommodations were a bit small but excellent, staff terrific, location the best. Nice pool and hot tub. Pricey but worth it. We will definitely go back there."


"My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary at the Aspen Square. The hotel knew it was our anniversary and went out of their way to make sure the weekend was special.

This hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of everything. Once we parked our car on Friday, no reason to drive until we left. Our room was wonderful, with a very comfortable king bed, nice living area. While we did eat all of our meals out, the kitchen was fully stocked and ready to cook.

The pool is gorgeous and clean. The two hot tubs were, well, nice and hot & relaxing. Staff is nice, friendly, and accommodating. This was our very first trip to Aspen, and this hotel did not disappoint. Thanks Aspen Square!!!"


"One of the best places to stay in Aspen. it is right there in the middle of town. Just a block away from the slopes and a couple of blocks from down town. Rooms have kitchens so we cooked a couple of nights for dinner and were able to do our own breakfasts. In the afternoon the cleaning service came in and cleaned the dishes and cleaned up the room very nicely. They also have a gas grill out by the pool deck area where you can grill out if you like.

Front desk was always friendly and helpful. Concierge was right there willing to set up reservations for anything from horseback riding, White water rafting, to dinner reservations. This was a summer trip but I know during winter it is just perfect place to ski down walk really just a block over and be in the hotel heading to your room. then back down to the heated pool or hot tubs. It is an older building, Built in the 60's but kept up to date to be sure. The rooms are privately owned condos so each one is in a little different style. Some have been updated more recently that others but all that we used (4 different studio condos) were nice in their own way and had no problems with.

Anyone that wants to go see the heart of Aspen needs to come out and stay here."


"I have stayed at Aspen Square many times and each time is as good as the last. The studios and suites are excellent and have all the extras you need. Each room has an open fire which is easy to get going.I stay in studios and all have balconies and views of the mountains or the street. Aspen Square is centrally located next to the Gondolas and a short walk to the Little Nell where 5pm drinks are mandatory.

The rooms come with kitchens and are combined sitting and bedroom if you take a studio. It is a short walk to the supermarket as well. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are cleaned daily. It is also a very quiet place to stay.

Aspen is a great town and if you don't ski there are plenty of places to eat and shop. Aspen has plenty of luxury boutiques and also quirky shops if you are prepared to explore. Aspen Square is a great place for the skier and non-skier."


"We changed our plan the last minute and decided to spend a day in Aspen. As it was the off season, we were able to book a room the day before through Expedia at a very good rate. We got room 401, a studio with a king bed. While I would not say it is newly renovated, it is not very outdated either. The room faces East Cooper Ave but we did not hear much noise, most likely because it was the off season and the area was not crowded at all. Pros: very friendly staff, the room provides nice touches here and there (like nice toiletries, sweets, tea and coffee, extra towels if needed etc), and a very comfortable bed. Most importantly the location is fantastic! We walked everywhere, and there is a supermarket across the street if you feel like cooking instead of eating out. Cons: there is only one elevator and it takes forever! The carpeting inside the elevator as well as on the 4th floor (and I assume the same for the rest of the building) needs to be replaced. The underground parking spaces are tight so it is not easy to get in and out. Overall though, we are very satisfied with our stay despite some drawbacks."


"Stayed here with my girl at end of Feb. I was familiar with this hotel primarily because of its location but what also sold me was that it had a fireplace. Service was good, housekeeping excellent and the rooms were nice. I'd be happy to stay here again."


"The hotel is luxuriously appointed with large studio apartments being the norm. Styles of rooms vary from "western" theme to ultra modern minimalist white. All studios have well appointed kitchens and comfortable lounge area. central location affords access to everything that Aspen has to offer. exquisite shops,interesting malls and the night time fairy lights in all the trees in town.Concierge available all day to organise outings,dining,events, whatever your requirement. Staff are ever willing , helpful and agreeable. We have been coming here for many years and each year it seems to be better."


"I was impressed with Aspen Square from the time we arrived. Check in was prompt & painless. It was all the little extras that made our stay memorable.A box of hand made chocolates was a nice welcome gift. The Monday night meet & greet by management with complimentary nibbles & beverages was a nice way to meet other guests. The hot apple cider & cookies in the lobby after a hard day skiing was also most welcome. The location was central & within walking distance of bars & restaurants. Views from our room were awesome. Looking up aspen mountain and across the gondolas. All in all everything was faultless. If I was being picky, the only thing I would fault was the slow lift."


"I'd stayed at Aspen Square several times in the late 1980's and returned this year with my husband. We had a studio with king bed, which had been nicely upgraded. The location is fantastic if you like to wander around downtown, 1 block to grocery store, nice courtyard with pool. I love the atmosphere of Aspen in the summer - music festival, lots of families. Our condo faced Cooper Street but we were not bothered by noise. Our only "complaint" if the lack of outlets, so I've started packing a power strip or extension cord for charging cell phones, laptops, iPads, etc."


"Great location, great service. Recommended."


"If you are going to be in Aspen you should be in the Aspen Square. One of the best run outfits in Aspen period."


"This was our first time at Aspen Square but we will be back! Staff is exceptionally helpful and welcoming. Our room was cozy, well decorated and maintained and had all the amenities. Perfect view of town. The location is right in the center of town, with easy access to bus and gondola as well as restaurants and shopping."


"I've just returned to the UK after staying, for the second time in two years, at this excellent, centrally located hotel."


"I couldn't have been greeted more warmly. The House Manager made a point of interrupting what she was doing to give me a big "Welcome Back" hug; the General Manager popped out for a chat and to say how glad he was to have me back, and the staff at the front desk were all smiles and grins. There was a nice, informal fruit and cheese reception on the Friday evening. Concierge service efficient and very friendly."


"Over the past 20 years we have stayed at several properties in Aspen. In our opinion, Aspen Square is at the top of the list. Aspen square is centrally located, the quality of the rooms and the space available in the rooms is the best value for the money. They have studios, one bedroom and larger units. The rooms are immaculate, very comfortable and the service is excellent. Aspen Square has concierge service available, exercise facilities, pool and hot tub. The only negative might be the availability of parking, however, the front desk will help solve the problem if there are no spaces available. As far as we are concerned Aspen Square should be number one place on the Travel Advisor site for places to stay in Aspen."


"We have been visiting Aspen every year for the past 10 years. We love this place!"


"Location is an A+++ - City Market is across the street, as well as the Gondola ride to Aspen Mountain. The rooms are all very nice with a fireplace, balcony and full kitchens. We have stayed in the various types: studios, 1 br & 2 br, which were all extremely nice!"


"I chose this hotel from other trip advisor reviews.. and they sure are right on with this one. We were so happy with this location, room and amazing view from our balcony. We stayed in room 310, which was a studio with a fireplace. Warren the manager, is very hands on and makes guest feel right at home. they have a nice reception area, where we sat and people watched by the fire enjoying our hot apple cider.. We will definitely be back next year!!!"


"This was our 2nd stay (from Aus). Gretchen and Laura on the help desk are nothing short of fantastic. These women are up there in the help department!!! Fantastic location, short walk to everything, supermarket about 1 minute. The hotel has heated spas and pools so if you have children they just love it after a day on the slopes a great way to unwind."


"If I had one complaint (sorry) it would be that the rooms are a little on the dark side in terms of lighting as they use the low voltage bulbs. Apart from that I would recommend the hotel. Very traditional decor and homey. Very comfortable beds (and big). Hope to be going back again next year."


"Have all the facilities that you need when traveling as a family. Great kitchen, fully equipped, laundry room on most floors and chopped wood for the fireplace."


"Solid hotel/condo in downtown Aspen, one block from Ajax gondola, Little Nell, super ski shops, Poppycocks, City Market, Il Mulino, and more. Good parking. Good pool and spa. Nice front desk. Nice staff and maid service. Everything we needed for Spring Break Aspen."


"Aspen Square has a great location. Its entrance it's at the main commercial street. Through its corner exits you can get across the street to town largest supermarket, the gondola and ski rentals shop.It is at two block distance of shuttle plaza transfers to all skiing resorts."


"We spent 2 weeks in condo 110 - it is a fabulous 3 bed, 3 bathroom apartment with lots of space for everyone. It has two living areas which we found great as we took the children. It has an excellent location across from the gondola. Great pool and jacuzzi on premises after a long Day skiing. I have stayed at North of Nell, Durant, Limelight and Clarendon over the years but feel Aspen Square is the best due to it's location and facilities. Will be back again next year!"


"Staff is extremely accommodating. The rooms are clean and spacious. Nice to have your own kitchen. The pool is large and clean. Staff will leave the pool open later than normal if you ask. Good parking in downtown Aspen. Close to public transportation. Close to the mountains and shops. Nice king size beds."


"The Aspen Square is the perfect location to stay in Aspen. We visited the property about 15 years ago and just returned this month. While much of the facility remains the same, the condo we occupied was updated and looked newer than its age. For an Aspen location, the rooms are spacious. We booked at the last minute and received a slight discount on top of the lowest advertised price. The gentlemen at the reservations line was so polite and helpful, definitely went above and beyond. The gondola is literally a 1 minute walk from the front door of the hotel, you cannot find a more centrally located property in this price range."


"We spent 6 days at Aspen Square this trip, and once again it was a wonderful experience. Our room was fantastic, with amazing views to the north and west. Having laundry machines on every floor is another huge plus. But the views and great room aside, what really makes Aspen Square so fantastic is its location, and the people that work there. You are close to everything! The gondola, the bus station, 'downtown', everything! And the staff are always friendly and want to make your stay just perfect. Without any hesitation I will be staying at Aspen Square again in the future."


"The staff is super friendly.The guys at the front desk rock! The courtyard pool area has been re-done and its very nice.The inside of the hotel is a little old but its still charming in its own way. I would stay again."


"This was our first trip to Aspen, and Aspen Square proved the perfect place for us to stay. It was right in the middle of town, and only about a 3-minute walk to the gondola on Aspen Mountain (which I most highly recommend taking to the top for some spectacular hiking), making it nice not to have to take the car everywhere. The people at the hotel could not have been friendlier. And the accommodations were wonderful. The bedroom was huge, and the living space and kitchen were just perfect. We cooked in a few nights, and the condo was very well-equipped. The swimming pool was gorgeous, though we didn't get a chance to use it. Our room, and the hotel in general, was very quiet! Though you could hear the buses outside, they stopped fairly early and weren't terribly bothersome (and I'm very sensitive to noise). Thank you for making our first trip to Aspen so special!"


"Just returned from a short but sweet trip to Aspen. We loved the 2 bedroom apartment style hotel with many amenities in our room as well as a waterfall pool and two hot tubs. Beautiful grounds and great employees. Location was tremendous and from our balcony we could see the amazing mountain (gondola) and we were right in the village. Clean, very comfortable and room 119 was perfect for our family. Great kitchen and bath products were fantastic (including scrunchy) even make-up remover! Bag for grocery shopping- Aspen does not provide plastic bags at grocery store so Aspen Square has a reusable one. The store is on the same block. Totally loved our stay but hey hiking etc how bad can it be?!"


"There's no restaurant, but Aspen Square is surrounded by cafes and other places to eat; there's a supermarket across the street, and the Butcher Block, also across the street, does excellent soup. Will certainly be coming back!"

back to top